## **Rule 1.10**

## ADMISSION PRO HAC VICE OF OUT-OF-STATE ATTORNEY

- (a) Eligibility for Admission. An attorney not admitted to practice law in Kansas may request admission to practice law in the Kansas appellate courts for a specific case if the attorney meets the following requirements:
  - (1) has an active law license from the highest court of another state, the District of Columbia, or a United States territory;
  - (2) is in good standing under the rules of that jurisdiction; and
  - (3) associates with a Kansas attorney of record in the case who is registered as active under Supreme Court Rule 206 and is in good standing under the Supreme Court Rules.
- (b) **Kansas Attorney's Duties.** The Kansas attorney of record under subsection (a)(3) must fulfill the following duties:
  - (1) actively engage in the case;
  - (2) sign and file all pleadings, documents, and briefs under Supreme Court Rules 1.12 and 1.14; and
  - (3) attend any prehearing conference or oral argument.
- (c) **Pro Hac Vice Motion.** An out-of-state attorney must request admission pro hac vice for each appellate case.
  - (1) **Requirements.** The following requirements apply to the motion for admission pro hac vice.
    - (A) The Kansas attorney must file the motion.
    - (B) The motion must include the out-of-state attorney's verified application under subsection (d).
    - (C) The Kansas attorney must file the motion as soon as possible but no later than the date the out-of-state attorney appears on any document filed in the case or 15 days before the out-of-state attorney appears at any prehearing conference or oral argument.
    - (D) The Kansas attorney must serve the motion on all parties and the client the out-of-state attorney seeks to represent in the appellate court.
  - (2) **Denial of Motion.** An appellate court must specify the reason for denying any pro hac vice motion.
- (d) Verified Application.
  - (1) **Contents.** The out-of-state attorney must include the following information in the attorney's verified application for admission pro hac vice:
    - (A) the client represented;

- (B) the Kansas attorney's name; attorney registration number; business address; telephone number; email address; and fax number, if any;
- (C) the out-of-state attorney's business address; telephone number; e-mail address; and fax number, if any;
- (D) all jurisdictions that have admitted the out-of-state attorney to the practice of law and the dates of admission and attorney registration numbers;
- (E) a statement that the out-of-state attorney is in good standing under the rules of each jurisdiction identified under subsection (d)(1)(D);
- (F) a statement that the out-of-state attorney has never received public discipline, including suspension, disbarment, or loss of license, in any jurisdiction;
- (G) a statement that the out-of-state attorney has no pending attorney disciplinary complaint in any jurisdiction or a detailed description of the pending complaint and the address of the disciplinary authority in charge; and
- (H) the case name, case number, and court where the out-ofstate attorney has appeared pro hac vice in Kansas in the last 12 months, if any.
- (2) **Obligation to Report Changes.** The out-of-state attorney has a continuing obligation to notify the court of any change in the information the attorney provided in the application.
- (e) **Fee.** The attorney must submit a nonrefundable fee of \$300, payable to the clerk of the appellate courts, with each motion for admission pro hac vice.
  - (1) **Disciplinary Fee Fund.** The Office of the Clerk of the Appellate Courts will forward the fee to the Office of Judicial Administration, which will deposit the fee in the disciplinary fee fund.
  - (2) Waiver. The Kansas attorney may move the court to waive the fee if the out-of-state attorney represents the government or an indigent party. The Kansas attorney must move for waiver before filing the motion for admission pro hac vice.
- (f) Service. Serving a document on the Kansas attorney has the same effect as personally serving the document on the attorney admitted pro hac vice.
- (g) **Consent to Disciplinary Jurisdiction.** An out-of-state attorney who is admitted under this rule consents to the exercise of disciplinary jurisdiction under Supreme Court Rule 202(a)(5).
- (h) Appearance by Self-Represented Litigant. This rule does not prohibit a party from appearing before an appellate court on the party's own behalf.

[**History:** New rule effective July 1, 2005; Restyled rule and amended effective July 1, 2012; <u>Am. effective November 1, 2024.</u>]